Family Specialist Credential

 Family Specialist Credential

The Family Specialist Credential (FSC) is for professionals who provide direct services to families. They work in a variety of settings and their titles vary as well. Some of the positions who would apply for the FSC might be Family Case Workers, Parent Educators, or Family Advocates. Those earning the FSC will have special knowledge of managing family relationships and documented "family-related" work experience.

You can earn the Gateways Family Specialist Credential by compiling your education, experience, and qualifications or attending an Entitled Institution and completing the required program. An Entitled Institution is an accredited college or university who has aligned their coursework with Credential requirements. If you recently attended (since 2014) and completed the required FSC courses at one of the Entitled Institutions below, your application will be processed through the Entitled Route. If you did not, your application will go through the Direct Route process. To make it easier on you the Steps to Apply are the same.

If you have a Bachelor's or Graduate degree in Social Work from a nationally accredited program, you may qualify for the Family Specialist Credential Level 5. Visit for a directory of accredited programs.

Steps to Apply

  1. Become a Gateways Registry member.
  2. Download the pdf Family Specialist Credential Application (475 KB) .
  3. Fill out the Supplement Application including the Work & Practical Experience Form and Information Update Form.
  4. Enclose a $65 check for payment (made payable to INCCRRA) or make a payment online by logging into your Registry Dashboard.  Click on My Registry and then choose the Make a Payment section. 
  5. Mail these documents to:

    1226 Towanda Plaza
    Bloomington, IL 61701

  6. Request your official transcripts be sent to Gateways from any accredited college or university you attended. An accredited college or university can send official transcripts electronically to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  If INCCRRA already has official transcripts on file you do not need to resend.

Entitled for the FSC

If you recently attended (since 2014) and completed the required FSC courses at one of the following Entitled Institutions, you may apply for the FSC Credential through the Entitled Route.

  • Lake Land Community College (Levels 2-4)
  • Truman College (Levels 2-4)
  • Rockford University (Level 5)
  • Eastern Illinois University (Level 5)
  • Southern Illinois University Carbondale (Level 5)

Excelerate Program

ExceleRate Illinois helps you prepare children for success in school and in life.

It also provides standards, guidelines, resources and supports to help you make sensible changes that lead to better quality outcomes for children.