ITC Toolbox

Toolbox Overview

The Gateways to Opportunity Infant Toddler Credential (ITC) Competency Toolbox includes a variety of resources supporting assessment within a competency-based system.

Toolbox Organization

The Toolbox is organized to support Assessment of each of the Gateways ITC Competencies. Assessments are organized either by ITC Content Area or within Custom Assessments. Custom Assessments include ITC Competencies from varied ITC Content Areas.

  • CPD: Curriculum or Program Design
  • FCR: Family and Community Relationships
  • HGD: Human Growth and Development
  • HSW: Health, Safety and Well-Being
  • IRE: Interactions, Relationships, and Environments
  • OA: Observation and Assessment
  • PPD: Personal and Professional Development

The following provides an overview of each of the Content Areas, aligned competencies, and related Assessments, by Level (2-6).

Learning Experience Development and Implementation
  • Level 3 Learning Experience Devlopment & Implementation PDFDOC
  • Level 3 Curriculum & Environment Design PDFDOC
  • Level 3-4 PDFDOC
  • Level 4 PDFDOC
  • Level 3-5 PDFDOC
Family/Practitioner Interview
Interaction Observation
Environmental Scan
Family Newsletter
Infant Toddler Philosophy Assessment and Resource File
  • Level 2 Infant Toddler Philosophy AssessmentPDFDOC
  • Level 4 Resource File AssessmentPDFDOC
    ITC Level 6 
    • Level 6 Family/Practitioner Observation and Developmental PlanningPDFDOC
    • Level 6 Professional ContributionsPDFDOC
    • Level 6 Data Analysis and Agency CollaborationPDFDOC
    • Level 6 Practitioner Observation and Developmental PlanningPDFDOC


    Master Rubrics

    Master Rubrics are provided for each of the competencies included in the seven Gateways Content Areas. Assessments can be designed based on using Master Rubrics in their entirety, or by using a unique compilation rubric rows.

    Master Rubric Organization

    Each Master Rubric includes the targeted competency in the column to the far left. Columns from left to right denote varying levels of proficiency for each targeted competency.

    Master Rubric Color Coding Scheme

    Master Rubrics are color-coded based on Credential Levels rubric rows align to:

    • Level 2 = Yellow
    • Level 3 = Green
    • Level 4 = Orange
    • Level 5 = Blue
    • Level 6 = Purple

    Faculty Fellow redesign now underway. Please check back in a few weeks!

    Excelerate Program

    ExceleRate Illinois helps you prepare children for success in school and in life.

    It also provides standards, guidelines, resources and supports to help you make sensible changes that lead to better quality outcomes for children.